A Cafe with Heart

A while ago, I visited a lovely little cafe in Koramangala, which is actually the coming together of three different brands, Mitti Cafe | Enerjuvate | Oak + Hill Coffee, each with a different offering but an altogether shared ethos. Enerjuvate is the food, Oak + Hill, as the name gives away, is the coffee, and Mitti Cafe is the staff.

Mitti is about inclusivity, with all their people being differently abled, across physical, intellectual and emotional disabilities. So, the cafe is staffed by these folks, a cheery bunch who will surely put a smile on your face as they go about the business of taking orders, serving and clearing up.

In terms of the food and drink, Enerjuvate (which I had frequented in its previous iteration in Jayanagar, and which has since reopened on KR Road in this new format with Mitti and Oak + HIll) focuses on healthy, vegetarian offerings – and yes, the devout non-vegetarian that I am has and will again, visit, because the food’s delicious! My favorites are the multigrain pizzas which are a must-order, the sabudana khichdi, and the Buddha bowl and the hummus and pita platter. Oh, and if you love chaat like me, then you will be pleasantly surprised by the ragi cracker base Aloo and Dahi Paapri chaats – crunchy and flavorful.

Oak + Hill is the result of one man’s passion, who brings a variety of specialty hot and chilled, regular and flavored coffees with the beans sourced from his family’s estates in Chikmagalur and Coorg. As a sometimes coffee drinker, who likes flavored coffees only, the citrusy cold brew with tonic was my pick – the perfect pick me up on a summer day.

Here’s a look at all the food and drink I enjoyed…

The day I visited, the staff had been gathered from the different locations for a shoot with Better India and I thus got the chance to get a photograph with most of the team. It was lovely meeting and interacting with them, and with Alina (Mitt founder) and Wilfred (whose brainchild is Oak + Hill) though I missed Darshana (the main lady behind Enerjuvate).

Leave a comment